circles of stone…

P1120176With today’s summer solstice in mind, I thought I’d post a few photos of the 2 stone circles I made outside my studio windows here a few years ago…

When we first began restoring the barn, we had to remove years of accumulated sheep and cow dung from the floor – about 12 inches worth – and to my great excitement, we eventually uncovered these flattish, oval-shaped stones arranged in a grid pattern below our feet.

I knew I had to save these in some way and do something fitting and fun with them and these circles are the result, as well as a path between the studio door and the vegetable garden. I had such fun making them, loved playing with the different shapes and textures, fitting them together in the best way to suggest movement and flow.

My own little homage to our ancient and Celtic legacy.

P1120322

P1120360

P1120345

P1120342

P1120334

P1120178

4 thoughts on “circles of stone…

Leave a Reply

