Uninvited Guests

IMG_7219

Not long after we bought our place here in the Highlands, we discovered that it had, for many years, had an old Gaelic nick-name and was described locally as the croft “where a watch would be kept for marauding red deer”!

IMG_7233

Still they come, in great numbers – yesterday morning, I counted 14 stags and hinds. Over the last few years, I’ve had to pinch myself often, as I’m treated to a front-row seat to their early morning shenanigans.

IMG_7238

They are such noble, powerful creatures, full of grace – always a thrill to behold.

IMG_7250

Mind you, there is a big down-side, in that it’s virtually impossible to grow anything. I’ve had to resort to a 6-foot deer fence to enclose my large vegetable garden and I’ve lost count of the number of trees I’ve lost!

Leave a Reply

